

Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania

2009 ELECTION

The Tasmanian *Aboriginal Lands Act 1995* (the Act) provides for the election of members to the Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania. These elections are to be conducted by the Tasmanian Electoral Commissioner. The Aboriginal Land Council of Tasmania comprises 8 committee members, each elected for a 3-year term, representing 5 electoral areas:

South region (2), North region (2), North-West region (2), Cape Barren Island group (1), Flinders Island group (1).

Nominations invited

To stand as a representative for an electoral area, a person must be enrolled for an address in that electoral area. This notice and a nomination form for the appropriate electoral area have been posted to each person enrolled. The Aboriginal Land Council electors roll includes those people who were enrolled at the 2001 elections and those who applied for enrolment in 2005 and were accepted.

Nominations must be lodged, posted or faxed so as to be received by the Electoral Commissioner, at the Tasmanian Electoral Commission, **before 12 noon on Friday 15 May 2009**.

As part of the nomination form, candidates are invited to provide a statement of up to 150 words to accompany the ballot papers sent to electors.

Election timetable

Nominations open 9am Saturday 7 March 2009

Nominations close 12 noon Friday 15 May 2009

Ballot papers posted to electors Monday 25 May 2009

If you would like more information on the election, or have any queries, please contact the Tasmanian Electoral Commission (freecall 1800 801 701).

Bruce Taylor – *Electoral Commissioner* – 7 March 2009

4